C.A. Charlet Funeral Director of the Year Award

The C. A. Charlet Funeral Director of the Year Award was established in 2002 in honor of C. A. Charlet, LFDA’s first executive director who served the association for 17 years. The award is given to a funeral director regarded by others as a role model who goes above and beyond the call of their everyday work to make a difference. The recipient is an exceptional and dedicated volunteer who has made outstanding contributions to the advancement of the funeral profession.

The C.A. Charlet Funeral Director of the Year award is presented at the LFDA Annual Convention in June.  Please visit the Annual Convention page for more information about the event. 

Past Recipients:

2023 Anthony "Tiger" Istre
2022 RT Delhomme
2021 Gary Tranchina
2019 Retanna Mire
2018 Bill Wimberly
2017 Joel Swisher
2016 Gerald Melancon
2015 Gene Pellerin
2014 Boyd Mothe, Jr.
2013 Roy Geesey
2012 Louis A. Muhleisen, Jr.
2011 Peter G. "Butch" Mulhearn, Jr.
2010 Boyd Mothe, Sr.
2009 Royal David
2008 Gerard L. Schoen, III
2007 John N. Vickers, Jr.
2006 David L. "Zeb" Johnson
2005 Dan L. LeBlanc, Sr.
2004 Foster Guillory, Jr.
2003 Robert Babineaux
2002 Gene Walters